top of page
  • S Yee

Kinship Tree Update

Over the course of my CSL placement, I've been mapping out 3 generations of the family of Gabriel Dumont. I've decided to call it a 'hybrid kinship tree' of sorts because it will combine both genetic and genealogical concepts. I actually came across the term "molecular genealogy" the other day while watching videos for Module 5 of the BIO2133 course, and I think this term most accurately depicts the field I'm studying.


The main genetic component I will focus on is mitochondrial inheritance, which follows maternal lines. I was inspired to depict this genetic concept after learning about traditional Indigenous societies being matrilineally organized. In contrast to a typical pedigree we would see in genetics, my hybrid tree will include all of the names of each family member (which I found by searching through a variety of sources throughout my CSL placement), so as to not simply reduce each person to merely their biological identity.


Here are some photos of the process of building the tree. I'll be sure to update again once it's finished!


I created squares (male) and circles (female) for ALL of the family members.
Cutting them out was a little tedious...
That's just the 3rd generation laid out there!! I'll have to be resourceful and come up with way to fit them all in one row...

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page